The Imperial titles on the coins of the Western Turkic Qaghanate

The formation of the Turkic (Türk) Qaghanate (552–744) in the second half of 6th century AD led to change of a political situation in the Eurasia steppes and its neighboring regions. The Ashina Turks became overlords of vast territories stretching from Mongolia (Orkhon) to the Northern Caucasus and the Black Sea. From that time onward the Turkic Qaghanate became a direct neighbour of the vast empires of Byzantium, Sasanian Iran and China. Türkic Qaghanate – has formed two parts: Türkic Qaghanate – it is the Central / Eastern Qaghanate or Eastern Türkic Qaghanate (552–630; 682–744), which capital was Ötüken in Mongolia and Western wing or Western Türkic Qaghanate (568–740), which capital was Suyab in Semirech’e (Kyrgyzstan).

The results of our last researches showed that in the 6th–8th centuries in Transoxiana (basin between Amu-darya–Syrdarya rivers and places surrounded them) found near 50 types Old Turkic coins with legends written in Sogdian (basically), Pehlewi (Middle Persian), Bactrian, Ancient Indian and Turkic-Run alphabets and more the 20 types of them belonged to the central kingdom of Western Turkic Qaghanate (Ashina dinasty). Other parts of them minted by local branches of the Qagahante: like Ferghana branch of Ashina dynasty (probably 630–750), Tutuks of Ferghana (7th–8th cc), Tegins of Chach (605-750), Tuduns of Chach (640-750), Sogdian-Turkic dynasty of Samarkand (7th–8th cc), Yabgus of Tokharistan (620–750), Tegin-Shahs of Kabulistan (640–843) and etc.

Read more