The greatest thinkers of the Great Steppe honored in Turkey

In Turkey, the head of the Academy Darkhan Kydyrali took part in a event dedicated to the outstanding personalities of the Great Steppe.

Kazakh Embassy in Turkey, the International Turkic Academy and the Eurasian Writers Union organized the event dedicated to the outstanding thinkers of the Great Steppe Abai, Farabi and Zhambyl in Ankara on February 22. This ceremony was a part of the celebrations of 1150th anniversary of “the Mankind’s second teacher” Al-Farabi as well as the 175th anniversary of the Kazakh great thinker Abai in 2020. It is also a 175th anniversary of Zhambyl Zhabayev, the last representative of the traditional folklore zhyrau of the Great Steppe.

Kazakh Ambassador to Turkey Abzal Saparbekuly told about special events held last year as a part of anniversary celebrations of Al-Farabi and Abai. He also stressed the importance of Zhambyl’s legacy.

Recalling that 2021 will be the year of celebration of significant anniversaries for the entire Turkic world, the Ambassador noted that this year will mark the 30th anniversary of Kazakhstan’s Independence.

Speaking at the event, the president of the International Turkic Academy Darkhan Kydyrali noted that despite the COVID-19 pandemic, the large-scale celebration of Abai’s anniversary in Turkey shows the friendly relationship between the countries. He also highlighted that unity of the Turkic world is strengthened through our common values such as Ahmet Yassawi, Sultan Alparslan, Haji Bektash Veli, Ahi Evran, Farabi, Abai and Zhambyl.

Noting that 2020 was marked as the year of Abai, Al-Farabi and the sage Tonyukuk, D.Kydirali thanked the Turkish National Commission for UNESCO and TURKSOY.

After the welcoming words, Myrzatai Zholdasbekov’s book “Zhambyl is the great poet of steppe literature” translated into Turkish was presented to the public.

During the event, Kazakh Ambassador to Turkey Abzal Saparbekuly, Secretary General of TURKSOY Dusen Kasseinov, as well as Deputy Secretary General of the Turkic Council Sultan Raev were awarded honorary badges of the Turkic Academy.

In addition, the Thomsen medal of the International Turkic Academy was awarded the Board Chairman of the Turkish Linguistic Language Society, Professor Gurer Gulseven and Chairman of the Turkish National Commission for UNESCO, Professor Ocal Oguz. The silver medal of the Turkic Academy was awarded to the Dean of the Faculty of Economic and Political Sciences of the Yozgat Bozok University, Professor Kursad Zorlu, Chairman of the Eurasian Writers Union Yakub Omeroglu, famous writer, translator Zafer Kibar and coordinator of the TV channel “TRT Avaz” Sedat Sagırkaya.

In addition, letters of gratitude from the Turkic Academy and a commemorative sign dedicated to the Year of Abai were awarded to deputy of the Turkish Grand National Assembly (Parliament), the editor-in-chief of the magazine “Yerli Düşünce” (“Local Thought”) Metin Gundogdu, a supporter of the Turkic world, researcher Gencehan Tuna, Lecturer at the University of Pamukkale Professor Nergiz Birai, editor-in-Chief of Anadolu state news agency Metin Mutanoglu, founder of the “Dil ve Edebiyat” magazine Ekrem Erdem, lecturer at Muğla Sıtkı Koçman University, Professor Ekrem Ayan, teachers at Ankara Hacı Bayram Veli University, Professor Gulzhanat Kurmangaliyeva Ercilasun and docent Cemile Kınacı, correspondent of the IHA news agency Irfan Calıskan and representative of the 24KZ TV channel in Turkey Meruyert Pambetova.